Am I Lactose Intolerant?: Part I

Question MarkLooking back to my senior year in high school,  I would have liked to know if I was lactose intolerant. Of course  milk made my stomach feel bloated and upset but I did not know for certain what was happening and why it was happening.

I remember going to the doctor for a regular check-up. Towards the end of my check-up, I mentioned my stomach feeling uncomfortable after I drank milk. Without hesitation my doctor said, “Yes, you’re lactose intolerant.” As I mentioned in a previous post, I was in denial. I loved milk more than anything else. I had a bowl of cereal at least once a day. I would no longer be able to enjoy cookies and milk or anything of that matter.

Although I never took a test at a clinic or hospital to find out if I was lactose intolerant, I was told about the medical procedures, or tests, used to see if someone is lactose intolerant. I did not want to take those tests so I tried that at home test that my doctor recommended me to do if I was not certain about her “diagnosis.” The “home test” I tried took less than an hour to give me results. On an empty stomach, I drank two glasses of skim milk and waited for my body to react. My doctor said that if my stomach was bloated within three hours, then it meant I was lactose intolerant.  I remember my stomach was bloated and I had awful painful cramps. As painful as this test sounded, it was free and it gave me results instantaneously.  If you would like to know if you are lactose intolerant, I recommend this at-home test for the fastest results.

Part II coming soon. I will be explaining the two other methods used by doctors to medically detect lactose intolerance.

