Retraining Your Body

One of the initial questions I asked myself when I first discovered I was lactose intolerant was, “How can I go back into being lactose tolerant?” I did not try to do much research and let go of the thought. During the course of creating this blog, this question has made its way back into my brain. Can I become lactose tolerant again?

I made some research for the purposes of this blog post.  I went on Google and searched “ways to become lactose tolerant.” I looked at several pages until I ran across a page, also a blog,  which got its information from credible sources.

People who are lactose intolerant tend to stay away from foods that contain dairy all together. Our stomach adjust to the foods that we eat everyday, therefore the bacteria in our stomachs digest foods we eat, not the foods we have stopped eating. For someone who is lactose intolerant, who has stopped drinking milk and has stayed away from dairy products, other bacterias, that help digest dairy– aside from lactase, are no longer there.  Back to the million dollar question, “How can I become tolerant to dairy again?” The process is simple but not so fun for someone who is severely lactose intolerant. To become tolerant, start off by drinking small amounts of milk everyday. Of course, you will feel uncomfortable, but it is the only way to go. When you feel comfortable enough to do so, start drinking more amounts until you do not feel side effects from dairy. It is not guaranteed that you will be able to gain your tolerance to dairy back but if you are optimistic, give it a try. If there is a will there is a way. Good luck!

